HITS Daily Double
Pub Crawling

Downtown Music Publishing has struck an agreement to acquire works from Neil Thrasher’s catalog.

The deal covers several hits penned by the award-winning country songwriter, including Jason Aldean’s “Tattoos on this Town,” “Fly Over States,” “Night Train” and “Rearview Town,” Rascal Flatts’ “Fast Cars and Freedom,” “Why Wait” and “Banjo” as well as Randy Houser’s “How Country Feels,” Kenny Chesney’s “There Goes My Life” and many others.

Thrasher began his music career as part of the duo Thrasher Shiver, with Kelly Shiver, releasing a self-titled album via Asylum Records in 1996. After shifting his focus to songwriting, Trasher was named Songwriter of the Year at ASCAP’s 2004 Country Music Awards for 'There Goes My Life” and other hits, and also won ASCAP Country Music Song of the Year for “How Country Feels” in 2013.

“How Country Feels,” “There Goes My Life,” “Tattoos on this Town,” “Fly Over States” and “Night Train” are among Thrasher’s multiple RIAA Platinum-certified singles. 

The deal follows a string of recent Downtown acquisitions, including music from the catalogs of Motown legend WilliamMickeyStevenson, Chris Braide (Beyoncé, Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera), 350+ works from Good Soldier Songs and the publishing catalog of The 1975, plus more.