HITS Daily Double


The film of Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band performing at 1979’s No Nukes concerts at Madison Square Garden will be released the week before Thanksgiving. Consider today's announcement the Boss' birthday present to his fans.

Sony Music Entertainment’s Premium Content Division, in partnership with Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, will release The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts as a digital download on 11/16, on physical formats 11/ 19 and as a digital rental on 11/23.

Edited by longtime Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny, the film features 10 never-before-released performances.

"A few years ago, I started re-examining the filmed archives for Bruce and the band’s appearances at the No Nukes concerts of 1979," Zimny said. "I quickly realized that these were the best performances and best filming from the band’s legendary '70s and dedicated myself to bringing out the full potential of the footage.”

A composite of two performances captured during the multiday concerts, the film runs 90 minutes and includes versions of then-unreleased "The River" and "Sherry Darling," plus covers of Buddy Holly’s “Rave On” and Maurice Williams’ “Stay" featuring Jackson Browne, Tom Petty and Rosemary Butler.

The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts were staged while Springsteen and the E Street Band were recording The River, just after the conclusion of their 1978 Darkness Tour.

Tom Mackay, President, Premium Content, Sony Music Entertainment, said, “The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts is a rare opportunity to experience an event that became an instant classic and marked a pivotal moment for Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band.”

We will now resume lighting the 72 candles for Bruce's birthday cake.


  1. Prove It All Night
  2. Badlands
  3. The Promised Land
  4. The River
  5. Sherry Darling
  6. Thunder Road
  7. Jungleland
  8. Rosalita Come Out Tonight
  9. Born to Run
  10. Stay
  11. Detroit Medley
  12. Quarter to Three
  13. Rave On