HITS Daily Double


Before regular airplay, the internet and social media, the mixtape world was absolutely integral to injecting hip-hop music from DJs and artists into the cultural bloodstream. Now, in honor of the 50th anniversary of hip-hop, Def Jam has released The Def Tape—the official soundtrack to the new Paramount+ documentary MIXTAPE, which explores how mixtapes launched hip-hop into mainstream culture. The soundtrack will be available on limited edition vinyl, CD and even cassette.

The Def Tape features 13 all-new original tracks recorded and mixed by DJ and producer Tony Touch and includes performances by Jeezy, Rick Ross, Dave East, Teyana and Griselda, among others, and what would inevitably turn out to be the final recording from Trouble on the track "Slippin"—the late rapper’s homage to another fallen soldier, DMX.

The first video release from the soundtrack, “We Shot Ya” f/Conway The Machine and Benny The Butcher, is out now. The Def Tape, along with special edition merch, can be found HERE.

Frankly, we’re so excited about busting out our cassette players we’re ignoring the fact that our HITS intern thought “head cleaner” was shampoo.