HITS Daily Double


Bruce Springsteen tackles 15 soul greats on his 21st studio album, Only the Strong Survive, which Columbia Records will put out on 11/11. The first release from the set is a cover of Frank Wilson’s "Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)" (see below).

Springsteen turned to the catalogs of Motown, Gamble & Huff and Stax, among other sources, for Only the Strong Survive’s material, on which he's backed by The E Street Horns and strings arranged by Rob Mathes. Sam Moore of Sam & Dave is featured on two tracks.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang,” Springsteen said. “And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the '60s and '70s? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all—and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”


  1. "Only the Strong Survive"
  2. "Soul Days" f/Sam Moore
  3. "Nightshift"
  4. "Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)"
  5. "The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore"
  6. "Turn Back the Hands of Time"
  7. "When She Was My Girl"
  8. "Hey, Western Union Man"
  9. "I Wish It Would Rain"
  10. "Don't Play That Song"
  11. "Any Other Way"
  12. "I Forgot to Be Your Lover" f/Sam Moore
  13. "7 Rooms of Gloom"
  14. "What Becomes of the Brokenhearted"
  15. "Someday We'll Be Together"

Bruce explains: