HITS Daily Double


Kacey Musgraves announced her forthcoming fourth studio album, Star-Crossed, due 9/10 via Interscope/UMG Nashville. The title track dropped on Monday, along with the trailer for a 50-minute film accompanying the follow-up to Golden Hour, which took home Album of the Year at the 2019 Grammys.

The title track was co-written and produced by Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk, who collaborated with Musgraves on Golden Hour. The trio worked on Star-Crossed during a three-week period in Nashville.

Bardia Zeinali directed the film, which will be available on Paramount+, from a concept by Musgraves and Zeinali. Matthew Libatique (A Star Is Born) is the cinematographer.

Shot in Los Angeles over a 10-day span, the film features cameos from Eugene Levy, Victoria Pedretti, Princess Nokia, Ru-Paul’s Drag Race winner Symone and comedian Megan Stalter.

The 15 songs on the album and in the film are “structured as a modern-day tragedy in three acts,” according to the press release. The songs are about “an extremely personal journey of heartache and healing.”


1. Star-Crossed
2. Good Wife
3. Cherry Blossom
4. Simple Times
5. If This Was a Movie
6. Justified
7. angel
8. Breadwinner
9. Camera Roll
10. Easier Said
11. Hookup Scene
12. Keep Lookin’ Up
13. What Doesn’t Kill Me
14. There Is a Light
15. Gracias a la Vida