HITS Daily Double


Chris Stapleton and Maren Morris lead the way with six Academy of Country Music Award nominations each. Among Morris’ sextet are her first for Song of the Year and Video of the Year.

Miranda Lambert received five nods; Ashley McBryde, producer Jay Joyce and reigning co-Entertainer of the Year Thomas Rhett earned four; and Carly Pearce, Ingrid Andress, Dann Huff and HARDY each nabbed three.

For the first time, every Single of the Year nomination features a female artist, and with Jimmie Allen, Kane Brown, Mickey Guyton and John Legend securing noms, it’s the first time in ACM Awards history that four Black artists have been nominated in a single year.

This year’s nominations also see 14 artists and other industry creators receiving their first ACM Awards nominations: Tenille Arts, Spencer Cullum, Travis Denning, Kris Donegan, Alicia Enstrom, Jason Hall, Gena Johnson, John Legend, P!nk, Steve Mackey, Gwen Stefani, Benmont Tench, Chris Tomlin and Kristin Wilkinson.

Like last year's show, the 56th Annual ACM Awards will be broadcast from Nashville's Grand Ole Opry House, the Ryman Auditorium and the Bluebird Café. The show airs on 4/18 on CBS.

And the nominees are:

Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton

Female Artist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Carly Pearce

Male Artist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton

Duo of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year
Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
The Cadillac Three
The Highwomen

New Female Artist of the Year
Ingrid Andress
Tenille Arts
Gabby Barrett
Mickey Guyton
Caylee Hammack

New Male Artist of the Year
Jimmie Allen
Travis Denning
Cody Johnson
Parker McCollum

Album of the Year
[Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]

Born Here Live Here Die Here (Capitol Nashville) Luke Bryan Producers: Jeff Stevens, Jody Stevens

Mixtape Vol. 1 (RCA Nashville)Kane Brown
Producers: Andrew Goldstein, Charlie Handsome, Dann Huff, Lindsay Rimes

Never Will (Warner Music Nashville)Ashley McBryde
Producer: Jay Joyce

Skeletons (EMI Nashville)Brothers Osborne
Producer: Jay Joyce

Starting Over (Mercury Nashville) Chris Stapleton
Producers: Chris Stapleton, Dave Cobb

Single of the Year
[Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]

“Bluebird” (Vanner/RCA Nashville)Miranda Lambert
Producer: Jay Joyce

“I Hope” (Warner Music Nashville) – Gabby Barrett
Producers: Ross Copperman, Zach Kale

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” (Big Machine/Curb) – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice
Producer: busbee

“More Hearts Than Mine (Warner Music Nashville) – Ingrid Andress
Producers: Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis

“The Bones” (Columbia Nashville) – Maren Morris
Producer: Greg Kurstin

Song of the Year
[Awarded to Songwriter(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)]

“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
Songwriter(s): Luke Dick, Miranda Lambert, Natalie Hemby
Publishers: Emileon Songs; Little Louder Songs; Pink Dog Publishing; Songs of Universal; Sony ATV Tree Publishing; Wrucke for You Publishing

“One Night Standards” – Ashley McBryde
Songwriter(s): Ashley McBryde, Nicolette Hayford, Shane McAnally
Publishers: Canned Biscuit Songs; Smackworks Music; Smack Blue, LLC; Smackstreet Music; Tempo Investments; Warner Geo Met Ric Music; Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp

“Some People Do” – Old Dominion
Songwriter(s): Jesse Frasure, Matt Ramsey, Thomas Rhett, Shane McAnally
Publishers: Carrot Seed Songs; EMI Blackwood Music INC; Smackville Music; Songs of ROC Nation; Telemitry Rhythm House Music; Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp; Smack Hits; Tempo Investments; Warner Gro Met Ric Music

“Starting Over” – Chris Stapleton
Songwriter(s): Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson
Publishers: I Wrote These Songs; Straight Six Music; WC Music Corp

“The Bones” – Maren Morris
Songwriter(s): Jimmy Robbins, Maren Morris, Laura Veltz
Publishers: Big Machine Music, LLC; Extraordinary Alien Publishing; International Dog Music; Oh Denise Publishing; Round Hill Songs; Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp.

Video of the Year
[Awarded to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)]

“Better Than We Found It” – Maren Morris
Director: Gabrielle Woodland
Producers: Sarah Kunin, Jennifer Pepke

“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
Director: Trey Fanjoy
Producer: Heather Levenstone

“Gone” – Dierks Bentley
Directors: Wes Edwards, Ed Pryor, Travis Nicholson, Running Bear and Sam Siske, with animation by Skylar Wilson
Producer: David Garcia

“Hallelujah” – Carrie Underwood and John Legend
Director: Randee St. Nicholas
Producer: Greg Wells

“Worldwide Beautiful” – Kane Brown
Director: Alex Alvga
Producer: Christen Pinkston

Songwriter of the Year
Ashley Gorley
Michael Hardy
Hillary Lindsey
Shane McAnally
Josh Osborne

Music Event of the Year
[Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company–Label(s)]

“Be a Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
Producer: Dann Huff
Label: The Valory Music Co.

“Does to Me” – Luke Combs featuring Eric Church
Producer: Scott Moffatt
Label: River House Artists/Columbia Nashville

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice
Producer: busbee
Label: Big Machine Records / Curb Records

“Nobody but You” – Blake Shelton featuring Gwen Stefani
Producer: Scott Hendricks
Label: Warner Music Nashville

“One Beer” – HARDY featuring Lauren Alaina and Devin Dawson
Producers: Derek Wells, Joey Moi
Label: Big Loud Records

“One Too Many” – Keith Urban, P!nk
Producers: Cutfather, Dan McCarroll, Keith Urban, PhD
Label: Capitol Records Nashville

Studio Recording Awards

Bassist of the Year
Jarrod Travis Cure
Mark Hill
Tony Lucido
Steve Mackey
Glenn Worf

Drummer of the Year
Fred Eltringham
Evan Hutchings
Derek Mixon
Jerry Roe
Aaron Sterling

Guitarist of the Year
J.T. Corenflos
Kris Donegan
Jedd Hughes
Ilya Toshinskiy
Derek Wells

Piano/Keys player of the Year
Dave Cohen
David Dorn
Charlie Judge
Mike Rojas
Benmont Tench

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year
Alicia Enstrom
Jim Hoke
Danny Rader
Mickey Raphael
Ilya Toshinskiy
Kristin Wilkinson

Steel Guitar Player of the Year
Spencer Cullum
Dan Dugmore
Mike Johnson
Russ Pahl
Justin Schipper

Audio Engineer of the Year
Jeff Balding
Jason Hall
Gena Johnson
Vance Powell
Reid Shippen

Producer of the Year
Buddy Cannon
Dave Cobb
Dann Huff
Jay Joyce
Joey Moi