HITS Daily Double


Sony/ATV took Publisher of the Year at 8/29's 2019 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards in Atlanta. What's more, 18 BMI songs took performance awards, including three co-written by Frank Dukes (“Be Careful”, “Better Now” and “Pray For Me”) and three co-written by Travis Scott (“Butterfly Effect”, “Sicko Mode”, “Sky Walker”). Other BMI-affiliated Sony/ATV songwriters honored included A$AP Rocky, Ella Mai, Mustard, Ty Dolla $ign, Tyga and Sting (for the sample on “Lucid Dreams”). Co-Prexy U.S. Danny Strick dominated the afterparty with some unforgettable beatboxing. Seen just before counting their stacks of performance royalty money are (l-r) SATV Manager A&R Will Skalmoski, VP Creative Ian Holder, BMI President & CEO Mike O’Neill, Strick, SATV Head of Urban Music Shawn Holiday, BMI VP Creative Atlanta Catherine Brewton and SATV Manager A&R Danielle Middleton.