HITS Daily Double


The recipient of City of Hope’s Warner/Chappell Music Icon of Hope Award will be musical-theater lyricist/composer Stephen Schwartz (Godspell, Pippin, Wicked). Warner/Chappell COO Carianne Marshall and SVP of Theatrical and Catalog Kurt Deutsch will present the award to Schwartz at Songs of Hope XIV presented by Spotify.

The event will take place on Thursday, 9/13, at Alex da Kid’s KidinaKorner Kampus in Sherman Oaks. Last year’s Songs of Hope XIII, hosted at the Kampus for the first time, raised $400k+ for City of Hope.

During a career spanning more than four decades, Schwartz has won four Grammys and three Oscars, has been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame and the Theatre Hall of Fame, and was awarded the Isabelle Stevenson Tony, a special award for his commitment to fostering new talent and championing important causes.

Previously announced presenters and recipients include the Clive Davis Legend in Songwriting Award, presented by Clive to Benny Blanco and Mike Will Made-It; the Martin Bandier Vanguard Award, presented by Marty to Sarah Aarons; the Electronic Arts Composer of the Year Award, presented by Steve Schnur to James Newton Howard; and the Songs of Hope Beverly and Ben Horowitz Legacy Award, presented by Zach Horowitz to expert in leukemia, lymphoma and bone-marrow transplantation Stephen J. Forman, M.D. This award will include the presentation of $100k to support the research of Forman and his team at City of Hope.

UMPG and Spotify will also present awards, with details provided closer to the event.

For the 14th consecutive year, the event is co-chaired by Spirit Music Group Chairman/CEO David Renzer, Davis Firm Founder/Principal Doug Davis, UMPG President Evan Lamberg and EA President of Music Steve Schnur.

Tickets can be purchased at www.cityofhope.org/music/songs or by contacting City of Hope at 626-218-6313 or [email protected].

For tickets to the annual Spirit of Life gala honoring Warner/Chappell Chairman/CEO Jon Platt on 10/11, go to https://www.cityofhope.org/mfei.