HITS Daily Double


To celebrate the 60th anniversary of Prince's birth, the Prince Estate and Warner Bros. Records have chosen today to announce the release of a 35-minute recording of Prince solo at the piano in 1983. One track is out now.

Piano & A Microphone 1983 comes out 9/21 and is available now for preorder. The songs were recorded at Prince's Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, Minn.

Prince Estate entertainment adviser Troy Carter said, "This raw, intimate recording, which took place at the start of Prince's career right before he achieved international stardom, is similar in format to the Piano & A Microphone Tour that he ended his career with in 2016. The Estate is excited to be able to give fans a glimpse of his evolution and show how his career ultimately came full circle with just him and his piano." On the album, Prince works through "17 Days," "Purple Rain," Joni Mitchell's "A Case Of You," the spiritual "Mary Don't You Weep" and five other songs. "Mary Don't You Weep" will be featured in Spike Lee's BlacKkKlansman, which opens in theaters in August.

Meanwhile, in celebration of UMPG's having all of Prince's compositions for admin, Jody Gerson has distributed raspberry berets to her entire team.

Track listing
1. 17 Days
2. Purple Rain
3. A Case Of You
4. Mary Don't You Weep
5. Strange Relationship
6. International Lover
7. Wednesday
8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9. Why The Butterflies