HITS Daily Double


Meet the four trustee officers elected by the Board of Trustees in a majority vote. Once elected they serve in their positions for two years and can serve up to two consecutive terms. Their job is to govern the Board of Trustees, the seemingly all-powerful entity within The Recording Academy.

John Poppo — Chair

Founder of Pop Productions Inc. (1996) and 30-year veteran of the industry, he works as a producer, engineer, mixer/remixer, arranger, musician and artist manager. An active board member since 2003, Poppo has served as chair for three years. He previously served as Vice Chair and co-chaired the Planning and Governance Committee for six years. Also served on the Executive, Television, Awards & Nominations, Finance, Advocacy, Membership, Tech, Grant and Producers and Engineers Wing Steering Committees. On the Boards of MusiCares, the Grammy Museum/Foundation and LARAS. Currently focused on new-artist development 
for Pop Productions.

Ruby Marchand — Vice Chair

Long-time Global A&R executive at Warner Music Group and currently SVP of Revenue and Repertoire Assurance at WEA overseeing the International Repertoire Initiative. Previously head of A&R at Ryko, she signed Keb’ Mo’, Will Hoge, Fran Healy, Allison Moorer, and The Posies. VP of A&R at Warner Music International for almost 25 years. Marchand is an Adjunct Professor at the NYU Steinhardt Music Business program. Formerly N.Y. Chapter Vice President, was elected to a second term as Vice Chair of the Academy. Marchand is on the board of the TJ Martell Foundation and was one of the Foundation’s Women of Influence (2016). 

Terry Hemmings Secretary/Treasurer

Serves as President/CEO for Provident Music Group (Sony Music Entertainment), overseeing Provident Distribution, Provident Films, Essential Records, Reunion Records, Essential Worship, RCA Inspiration, Essential Sound, and Verity. The companies represent a sizable roster of artists including Brandon Heath, Matt Maher, Zach Williams, Tauren Wells, Snoop Dogg, Kirk Franklin, Travis Greene and more. Previously served as Chapter Secretary/Treasurer. Hemmings currently serves on the boards of the RIAA, Gospel Music Trust Fund and Music City Music Council. Most recent credit was on Tenth Avenue North’s Decade the Halls (2017) as executive producer.

Christine Albert — Chair Emeritus

An independent artist who’s released 12 studio albums and performs as half of Albert & Gage with Chris Gage. She co-owns and operates MoonHouse Studio and MoonHouse Records. Albert previously served as Chair, Vice Chair, Chapter Trustee and Chapter Governor in Texas, as well as on all standing committees of the Academy. Founder of Swan Songs, a nonprofit fulfilling musical last wishes. Most recent credits include background vocals for Jeff Walker’s It’s About Time (2018) and Tom Peterson’s Black Hills Gold (2017).

You can meet a portion of the the body of trustees here. A reminder: the trustee officers have to have served at least two of the past five years as a trustee in order to be eligible for election.