HITS Daily Double


Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur have been voted in in their first year of eligibility, Shakur being the sixth hip-hop artist and the first solo mc inducted. Pearl Jam became officially eligible this year as their Epic debut Ten celebrated its 25th anniversary.

And now for the debate: Prog-rockers Yes get in on their third nomination, 47 years after the release of their debut; and Journey, which received first place in the fans’ vote, is in the Hall of Fame 41 years after the release of their debut.

Electric Light Orchestra, which formed in 1970 and had somehow never made it to the final ballot, has been voted in as has Joan Baez, the folksinger whose self-titled debut was issued by Vanguard in 1960.

Electing bands that are still active with replacement musicians opens doors for reunions that may well never occur otherwise. Will Steve Perry, who left Journey in 1987, sing with Neal Schon and the band? Will Jon Anderson rejoin Yes, the band he co-founded with the late Chris Squire, for the first time in a dozen years? When ELO is announced will Jeff Lynne take the stage with fellow inductees Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy, a lineup that hasn’t been together since 1972? Stay tuned.

While Rock Hall voters continue to reject Chic—they’ve set a record for most ballot appearances, 11—they have found away to honor co-founder Nile Rodgers. He will be receiving the Award for Musical Excellence.

The 32nd annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place 4/7 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn. Tickets will go on sale in January.

An exhibit featuring the 2017 inductees will open at the Hall of Fame in Cleveland on 3/30.