HITS Daily Double
What’s different about this Patsavas soundtrack is that there’s nothing remotely indie about the spotlighted artist.


Will Alex Patsavas’ Midas Touch Extend to the Fourth Release in the Twilight Series?
Normally, a press release announcing the tracklisting for a movie soundtrack would be deleted without even being opened—unless it was about the next Twilight soundtrack album; in that case you’d post a story about it. Like now.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, the “musical companion,” as Summit Entertainment, Chop Shop Records and Atlantic Records put it, to the much anticipated fourth installment in the teen-vampire film franchise, hits on Nov. 8, 10 days ahead of the opening of the film.

The reason we’re paying attention is because the music supervisor is a big-time rainmaker. That, of course, would be Alex Patsavas, who built her Chop Shop Music Supervision into a go-to player in the music biz through her soundtrack work while proving that dropping the right song into the right scene of a TV series could lead directly to a major hit. Patsavas drew up the blueprint a decade ago with The O.C. and refined it with Grey’s Anatomy, the latter show resulting in such hits as Snow Patrol's "Chasing Cars" and The Fray's "How to Save a Life." Gossip Girl provided Patsavas with the opportunity to push the envelope a bit with more left-of-center artist choices, completing the picture while bringing a more grown-up dimension to the indie cred she’d gained from The O.C.

More than any other supe, Patsavas managed to connect the dots between young TV viewers and music fans, and the initial Twilight gig provided her with the perfect opportunity to apply her rarefied feel for potential hits to another medium—but one that was conveniently aimed at the same audience. She formed the Chop Shop label, a partnership with Atlantic, in 2007.

What’s different about this installment is that there’s nothing remotely indie about the spotlighted artist—the first single is from the heavy-hitting Bruno Mars. The track, “It Will Rain,” became available as an iTunes exclusive this week, but only with soundtrack pre-orders. Representing Patsavas’ indie foundation is Iron & Wine, who provided “Flightless Bird, American Mouth” for the first Twilight soundtrack; here, Sam Beam and co. contribute a newly recorded version of the same song.

Moving into the meat of the album content, Patsavas commissioned tracks from such up-and-comers as Christina Perri, The Joy Formidable, The Belle Brigade and Theophilus London. There’s also a contribution from Mia Maestro, who co-stars in the new film as Carmen Denali of the Denali Coven.

Patsavas worked with director Bill Condon in compiling the tracklisting. Paul Katz of Eye2Ear Music, who’s Summit’s point person on film-related music and soundtracks, gets the producer credit.

Released in November of 2008, Twilight Original Motion Picture Soundtrack bowed at #1, making it the biggest debut of the SoundScan era for Atlantic. The second entry, The Twilight Saga: New Moon Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, also topped the charts in its first full week at retail in October 2009. Altogether, the three soundtracks have sold more than 7.5 million units, while providing crucial exposure to such acts as Muse, Paramore, Death Cab for Cutie and The Black Keys.

The next chapter of The Twilight Saga will be released as two separate films, with the second coming to theatres on Nov. 16, 2012. Condon directed both films, with Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner all returning.

Here’s the tracklisting:
1. “Endtapes” The Joy Formidable
2. “Love Will Take You” Angus & Julia Stone
3. “It Will Rain” Bruno Mars
4. “Turning Page” Sleeping at Last
5. “From Now On” The Features
6. “A Thousand Years” Christina Perri
7. “Neighbors” Theophilus London
8. “I Didn’t Mean It” The Belle Brigade
9. “Sister Rosetta” (2011 Version) Noisettes
10. “Northern Lights” Cider Sky
11. “Flightless Bird, American Mouth” (Wedding Version) Iron & Wine
12. “Requiem On Water” Imperial Mammoth
13. “Cold” Aqualung & Lucy Schwartz
14. “Llovera” Mia Maestro
15. “Love Death Birth” Carter Burwell

Bonus tracks for the deluxe version:
16. “Like a Drug” Hard-Fi
17. “Turning Page” (Instrumental) Sleeping at Last
18. “Eclipse (All Yours)” Kevin Teasley
19. “It Will Rain” (Video) Bruno Mars