HITS Daily Double
Bob Higgins, Norman Lear, Don VanCleave and Ashford & Simpson got lots of retail love in San Diego Wednesday night.


Pearson Gets All Misty During the Closing Awards Dinner, as His People Get Feted
The 51st edition of NARM ended with the annual Awards Dinner, highlighted by some touching and fitting tributes.

Trans World founder Bob Higgins was given the Presidential Award for Sustained Executive Achievement in a ceremony that included a wonderful video tribute and a speech from the honoree emphasizing the need to sustain the value proposition of the CD.

Norman Lear was given the Harry Chapin Memorial Humanitarian Award, former CIMS President Don VanCleave received the Independent Spirit Award and songwriting legends Ashford & Simpson took home the Outstanding Achievement Award.

The newly created Community Award went to Rhino Entertainment and Hopeless Records. The Green Award was given to WEA. The Packaging Award went to Fueled by Ramen for Panic at the Disco and UMe for Motown #1’s. The Marketing Award went to J&R (branding TV, subway, print, outdoor campaign), Earshot (heavy metal campaign), UMe (Motown 50 campaign) and Big Machine (Taylor Swift campaign). The Business Innovation Award went to Sony (artist applications), iTunes (Depeche Mode iPass), Atlantic (Fanbase) and Topspin Media. The Collaboration Award went to Best Buy and EMI (Coldplay), and UMGD and Cricket (BelaNova and Soulja Boy).

Great sets were turned in by former American Idol contestants Brooke White and Michael Johns. Closing the night, Hall & Oates performed did a brief but well-received, acoustic set after receiving the Chairman’s Award for Sustained Creative Achievement.

See everyone next year in Chicago.