HITS Daily Double
Sony/ATV Music Publishing, where [Bandier] is Chairman/CEO, and Roger Faxon’s EMI Music Publishing, his former home, tied as Publishers of the Year at the gala with 20 of the year’s Most Performed Songs of the Year.


Stargate’s Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen Win Songwriters of the Year, Wyclef Jean, Santigold Also Honored

Marty Bandier’s old company and new one earned top honors at this year’s 26th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards last night, at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel.

Sony/ATV Music Publishing, where he is Chairman/CEO, and Roger Faxon’s EMI Music Publishing, his former home, tied as Publishers of the Year at the gala with 20 of the year’s Most Performed Songs of the Year, while Jesse McCartney and One Republic’s Ryan Tedder took home Song of the Year honors for Leona Lewis’ “Bleeding Love.”

Stargate’s Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen were cited as Songwriters of the Year for penning six of the most performed songs of the past year, including Chris Brown’s “With You,” Ne-Yo’s “Closer” and “Miss Independent,” Rihanna’s “Don’t Stop the Music” and “Take a Bow” and Jordin Sparks’ “Tattoo.” This is the second time Stargate have been honored. They also picked up the prize at the 2007 ASCAP awards in London. Newly named ASCAP President/Chairman Paul Williams and CEO John LoFrumento presented the Norwegian songwriters/producers with the award.

Heart’s Ann and Nancy Wilson were honored with the ASCAP Founders Award; Wyclef Jean received the ASCAP Creative Voice Award; and Santigold received ASCAP's Vanguard Award.

Co-Songwriter of the Year Tedder also picked up an award for OneRepublic’s “Apologize,” one of the five Most Performed Songs of theYear along with “Bleeding Love,” Sara Bareilles’ “Love Song,” Flo-Rida’s “Low” and Alicia Keys’ “No One,” written by Kerry “Krucial” Brothers, DJ Dirty Harry and Keys.

Alice in Chains Jerry Cantrell and Williams presented Heart’s Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart with ASCAP's Founders Award, whose past recipients include Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Melissa Etheridge, Annie Lennox, Joni Mitchell, Steely Dan, James Taylor, Tom Waits and Neil Young.

The awards celebration featured several performances throughout the evening, including those by special honorees Ann and Nancy Wilson and Wyclef Jean. New ASCAP member Natasha Bedingfield performed two songs, including "Pocketful of Sunshine" which earned her co-writer John Shanks a Pop Award. Jesse McCartney sang his hit "Leavin'," which was penned by Corron Cole, Terius "The Dream" Nash and Christopher "Tricky" Stewart. OneRepublic performed their Pop Award-winning hits "Apologize" and "Stop and Stare;" and Jason Reeves and Mikal Blue were on stage to sing their award-winner, "Realize" (a hit for Colbie Caillat) with songwriter and American Idol judge Kara DioGuardi, who signed Reeves to Warner Bros. Records.

Many of the evening's winning songwriters were on hand to collect their awards, including multiple winners Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald who received four awards; Terius "The Dream" Nash, Christopher "Tricky" Stewart and Ryan Tedder who collected three awards each; Kerry "Krucial" Brothers, Stacy "Fergie" Ferguson, Andre Merritt, Jason Reeves, and Brian Kennedy Seals who won two awards each; and Quincy Jones for "Good Life;" Kardinal Offishall for "Dangerous;" Johntá Austin for "With You;" and Webbie for "Independent."

The complete list of winners is available at www.ascap.com.