HITS Daily Double
"Though the songs on this album aren't 'mine,' I feel them in me, and they urge me on to do the work we all need to do. I hope they have the same effect on you."
——Michael Moore


Epic/Sony Music Soundtrax Releases Songs and Artists That Inspired Fahrenheit 9/11 on 10/5
Get ready for Fahrenheit 9/11 the album.

Epic/Sony Music Soundtrax is set to release director Michael Moore's Songs and Artists That Inspired Fahrenheit 9/11 on Oct. 5, which is when the DVD of the movie hits retail shelves.

This is not the soundtrack to the film, which comes out on Warner Bros. the same day, but a series of songs, chosen by Sony Music soundtrack division ruler Glen Brunman and Moore himself, that served as an inspiration in making the controversial movie.

The album features 12 patriotic anthems, and 50 cents of every dollar in net profit from the disc will go to the Fallen Patriot Fund, for the families of soldiers who have died during the Iraq war. Artists who contributed include Little Steven, Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan, System Of A Down, Pearl Jam, Dixie Chicks, John Fogerty, The Clash, Steve Earle, Black Eyed Peas featuring Justin Timberlake, Nanci Griffith and Jeff Buckley, along with new songs by former Rage Against the Machine front man, Zack de la Rocha, and The Nightwatchman (Audioslave's Tom Morello).

And it's not just for Democrats, either...

Moore, who served as executive producer on the album, says: " "Though the songs on this album aren't 'mine,' I feel them in me, and they urge me on to do the work we all need to do. I hope they have the same effect on you."

Everything on the record was selected by Moore based on the songs and the artists that he listened to as he created his documentary.

Says Brunman: "Music has always provided inspiration in turbulent times. These songs have the power to move people from the sidelines to the front lines."

De la Rocha's "We Want It All," produced by Trent Reznor and de la Rocha, is the album's lead single and video, as well as the vocalist's first new album-based recording in five years.

"Seeing Fahrenheit 9/11 was like hearing Dylan's 'Masters of War' or Public Enemy's 'Bring The Noise' for the first time," says Zack. "It wasn't just about melody, great production or hard ryhmes. It was the weight of the argument and what the piece forced me to consider."

Sony BMG Music is donating one half of its net profits from U.S. sales of this CD to the Fallen Patriot Fund, the charity selected by Michael Moore. The Fallen Patriot Fund of the Mark Cuban Foundation was established to help families of U.S. military personnel who have been killed or seriously injured in the current Iraqi conflict. All funds raised go directly to the families.

The full tracklisting is as follows:
1. Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul, "I Am a Patriot (and the River Opens for the Righteous)"
2. Bruce Springsteeen, "Chimes of Freedom"
3. Bob Dylan, "With God on Our Side"
4. Zack de la Rocha, "We Want It All" (new)
5. System of a Down, "Boom!"
6. The Nightwatchman, "No One Left" (new)
7. Pearl Jam, "Masters of War"
8. Dixie Chicks, "Travelin' Soldier"
9. John Fogerty, "Fortunate Son" (live)
10. The Clash, "Know Your Rights"
11. Steve Earle, "The Revolution Starts Now"
12. Black Eyed Peas featuring Justin Timberlake, "Where Is The Love?
13. Nanci Griffith, "Good Night, New York" (live)
14. Jeff Buckley, "Hallelujah"

Said Moore: "When I make a film, I take my portable CD case and place in it a series of albums which contain music that reflects the mood I am in and the reasons that are motivating me to make this film. I play these CDs for myself and for my crew. Sometimes we have them playing in the van while we are driving around and filming. Sometimes I listen to them at night, thinking about what I want to accomplish the next day on the shoot. It is not easy to crash Capitol Hill to ask Congressmen if they would like to send THEIR sons to Iraq. Music helps get us there.

"The songs contained on this CD are either the actual songs that made up our 'on-the-scene' soundtrack, or they are by artists whom I have listened to over the years and have given me much inspiration."