HITS Daily Double


James Newton Howard, Marc Shaiman, Phil Collins Among Those Honored At Gala
It's that time of year again when the performing rights organizations honor their own at a series of black-tie dinners.

Top composers and songwriters including James Newton Howard ("The Sixth Sense," "Runaway Bride," "ER"), Marc Shaiman ("Patch Adams") and Phil Collins ("Tarzan") were among those honored Tuesday night at ASCAP's 15th annual Film and Television Awards gala at the Beverly Hilton.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers honored writers and publishers of the biggest box office film music and the most performed television music of the year.

Composer-songwriter Howard was also presented with the Henry Mancini Award for lifetime achievement, honoring his accomplishments in film and television. Howard has won 18 ASCAP Film & Television Awards since 1992.

Lawrence Kasdan, Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall joined ASCAP head Marilyn Bergman in presenting the award to Howard.

Director-choreographer Stanley Donen ("Singin' In The Rain," "Funny Face") was presented with the ASCAP Opus Award, which honors noncomposers/lyricists for their extensive collaboration with ASCAP members.

Among the other film composers honored at the event were Elmer Bernstein ("Wild Wild West"), Randy Newman ("Toy Story 2") and Carter Burwell ("The General's Daughter").

Songwriters Madonna, William Orbit, Matt Slocum, Will Smith and Stevie Wonder were also honored.

In the TV series category, Vonda Shepard ("Ally McBeal"), Michael Skloff ("Friends," "Jesse") and Dan Foliart ("7th Heaven," "Home Improvement") were among the award recipients.

TAGS: yes